Jon Jones makes a long-awaited move to heavyweight this weekend, as he fights Ciryl Gane for the vacant title in the main event of UFC 285.

Jones is a former multiple-time light heavyweight champion, whose career has been marred by failed drug tests and incidents with the law, but many still see him as the greatest fighter in mixed martial arts history. Now 35, the American returns to the ring this weekend after a three-year lay-off.

Having promised a move to heavyweight for years, Jones will take on Gane in the main event of UFC 285, as the Frenchman looks to capture the undisputed belt that eluded him last year. Gane, 32, was interim champion when he fought Francis Ngannou last January, but the latter emerged victorious on points to unify the gold.

Ngannou left the UFC this January, however, relinquishing his title and setting up this huge clash, which takes place after Valentina Shevchenko defends her flyweight gold against Alexa Grasso. Here’s all you need to know.

When is it?

UFC 285 is set to take place at the T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas on Saturday 4 March.

The early prelims will begin at 11.15pm GMT (3.15pm PT, 5.15pm CT, 6.15pm ET), with the prelims following at 1am GMT on Sunday 5 March (5pm PT, 7pm CT, 8pm ET on Saturday).

The main card is then scheduled for 3am GMT on Sunday (7pm PT, 9pm CT, 10pm ET on Saturday).

How can I watch it?

The card will air live on BT Sport in the UK, with the broadcaster’s app and website also streaming the fights.

In the US, ESPN+ will stream the action live, as will the UFC’s Fight Pass.


Ciryl Gane (right) will face Jon Jones for the vacant UFC heavyweight title

(UFCEurope via Twitter)

Jones – 5/8; Gane – 4/3

Shevchenko – 2/11; Grasso – 4/1

Full odds via Betway.

Full card

Main card

Jon Jones vs Ciryl Gane (vacant heavyweight title)

Valentina Shevchenko (C) vs Alexa Grasso (women’s flyweight title)

Shavkat Rakhmonov def. Geoff Neal via third-round submission (rear naked choke, 4:17)

Mateusz Gamrot def. Jalin Turner via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)

Bo Nickal def. Jamie Pickett via first-round submission (arm-triangle choke, 2:54)

UFC women’s flyweight champion Valentina Shevchenko

(Getty Images)


Cody Garbrandt def. Trevin Jones via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Dricus Du Plessis def. Derek Brunson via second-round TKO (towel thrown in, 4:59)

Amanda Ribas def. Viviane Araujo via unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26, 30-27)

Marc-Andre Barriault def. Julian Marquez via second-round TKO (strikes, 4:12)

Early prelims

Ian Machado Garry def. Song Kenan via third-round TKO (strikes, 4:22)

Cameron Saaiman def. Leomana Martinez via majority decision (29-26, 28-27, 28-28)

Tabatha Ricci def. Jessica Penne via second-round submission (armbar, 2:14)

Farid Basharat def. Da’Mon Blackshear via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Loik Radzhabov def. Esteban Ribovics via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)

Click here to subscribe to The Independent’s Sport YouTube channel for all the latest sports videos.

Source link