THE Premier League Golden Boot award is always hotly contested between the best strikers in the top flight and this year will be no different.

Last year, Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min shared the award with legends such as Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Harry Kane previously scooping the prize.

Liverpool's Mohamed Salah won the Golden Boot with Son Heung-min last season


Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah won the Golden Boot with Son Heung-min last seasonCredit: Getty

Who are the favourites to win the Premier League Golden Boot?

Once again, Liverpool superstar Salah is expected to be right at the top of the standings but he will face fierce competition.

New Manchester City signing Erling Haaland, Tottenham’s Harry Kane and Son Heung-min as well as Gabriel Jesus at Arsenal are all candidates to net the most.

Liverpool also brought in Darwin Nunez and Ronaldo is a sure bet to score plenty at an underperforming Manchester United.

Outsiders for the gong are the likes of Callum Wilson at Newcastle, Raheem Sterling at Chelsea and Jamie Vardy at Leicester.

Every Prem Golden Boot winner as Salah hunts down Henry with third award
When is the 2022 World Cup in Qatar?

Premier League top scorers 2022/23

As of Saturday, August 20

  1. Rodrigo – Leeds – 3
  2. Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace – 3
  3. Aleksandar Mitrovic – Fulham – 3
  4. Gabriel Jesus – Arsenal – 2
  5. Ivan Toney – Brentford – 2
  6. Erling Haaland – Man City – 2
  7. James Maddison – Leicester – 2
  8. Che Adams – Southampton – 2
  9. Josh DaSilva – Brentford – 2
  10. Pascal Gross – Brighton – 2
  11. Martin Odegaard – Arsenal – 2
  12. Gabriel Martinelli – Arsenal – 2
  13. Harry Kane – Tottenham – 2
Leeds star Rodrigo leads the way after two gameweeks in the Premier League


Leeds star Rodrigo leads the way after two gameweeks in the Premier LeagueCredit: Getty

Who scored in the Premier League in Gameweek 2?

Gabriel Jesus made a big impact as Arsenal beat Leicester 4-2.
The former Manchester City forward was on target twice and provided two assists to his teammates.

The man at the top of the standings at this early stage of the season is Leeds star Rodrigo.

He netted twice in the 2-2 draw with Southampton to add to his goal in the opening week.

It was a quiet week for Erling Haaland despite City putting Bournemouth to the sword in a 4-0 hammering.

Instead, it was Kevin de Bruyne on target and scoring his first goal of the campaign.

Who has previously won the Premier League Golden Boot?

  • 1992/93Terry Sheringham (Tottenham), 22 goals
  • 1993/94Andy Cole (Newcastle), 34 goals
  • 1994/95Alan Shearer (Blackburn), 34 goals
  • 1995/96 – Alan Shearer (Blackburn), 31 goals
  • 1996/97 – Alan Shearer (Newcastle), 25 goals
  • 1997/98Chris Sutton (Blackburn), Dion Dublin (Coventry), Michael Owen (Liverpool), 18 goals
  • 1998/99 – Michael Owen (Liverpool), Dwight Yorke (Man Utd), Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds), 18 goals
  • 1999/00Kevin Phillips (Sunderland), 30 goals
  • 2000/01 – Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink (Chelsea), 23 goals
  • 2001/02 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 24 goals
  • 2002/03Ruud van Nistelrooy (Man Utd), 25 goals
  • 2003/04 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 30 goals
  • 2004/05 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 25 goals
  • 2005/06 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 27 goals
  • 2006/07Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 20 goals
Cristiano Ronaldo was the Premier League's top goalscorer in the 2007/08 season


Cristiano Ronaldo was the Premier League’s top goalscorer in the 2007/08 seasonCredit: Reuters
  • 2007/08 – Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd), 31 goals
  • 2008/09Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), 19 goals
  • 2009/10 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 29 goals
  • 2010/11Carlos Tevez (Man City), Dimitar Berbatov (Man Utd), 20 goals
  • 2011/12Robin van Persie (Arsenal), 30 goals
  • 2012/13 – Robin van Persie (Man Utd), 26 goals
  • 2013/14Luis Suarez (Liverpool), 31 goals
  • 2014/15Sergio Aguero (Man City), 26 goals
  • 2015/16 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 25 goals
  • 2016/17 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 29 goals
  • 2017/18 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 32 goals
  • 2018/19Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 22 goals
  • 2019/20 – Jamie Vardy (Leicester), 23 goals
  • 2020/21 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 23 goals
  • 2021/22 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Son Heung-min (Tottenham), 23 goals

What Son said after sharing Golden Boot with Salah

After sharing the 2021/22 award with Salah of Liverpool, Tottenham’s Son was ecstatic.

He said: “Even Lucas [Moura] who came on, Stevie [Steven Bergwijn], H [Kane], Eric [Dier], Ben [Davies].

“Every player was next to me and said, ‘Sonny you’ve got to do this, you believe and you will get another chance’. Finally I scored and I scored second goal, it was just incredible.

The Golden Boot was shared by Son Heung-min and Mohamed Salah last season


The Golden Boot was shared by Son Heung-min and Mohamed Salah last seasonCredit: PA

“Today I missed the easiest chances but I scored one of the toughest chances.

“I’m very happy and I’m really, really grateful for the team that they helped me a lot, especially all season but this game today [Sunday], after 3-0 everyone was just like ‘Go on Son, go on Son! You got to do this, you deserve this’.

“I was really appreciative and that’s why I was pushing myself as well.”

Source link