Government Secondary School (GSS), Eket, Akwa Ibom State, and African Church Grammar School, Abeokuta, Ogun State, at the weekend, won the boys and girls’ categories of the Nigeria Secondary Schools Flag Football League (NSSFFL) Season 11 held in Akure, Ondo State.

At the championship, tagged ‘AKETI BOWL,’ GSS Eket beat Government Science Secondary School, Pyakasa, Abuja, to win the boys’ version of the competition, while African Church Grammar School defeated Ikeja Senior Grammar School, Lagos, to claim the girls’ title.

The NSSFFL national finals, put together by the Nigeria American Football Association (NAFA), featured over 16 boys and girls teams.

Among top dignitaries at the event were Ondo State’s Commissioner of Youth and Sports, Dele Ologun, and the Commissioner for Energy and Mines, Razak Obe.

Former presidential aspirant, Prof. Chris Imumolen, awarded N100 million worth of scholarship to the champions, who also got N750, 000 cash prize.

The second-placed teams were rewarded with N500, 000 each, while the third best teams got N150, 000.

NAFA President, Babajide Akeredolu, commended the participating teams in the national finals, while assuring that the body would continue to promote Flag Football and American Football in Nigeria.

Source link