All is set for the yearly Sportsville Recognition Awards billed to hold this evening at the Lagos Country Club, Ikeja.

Chief Executive Officer of Sportsville, Frank Ilaboya, said yesterday that all arrangements have been concluded for the event slated to begin by 6.00 p.m.

According to Ilaboya, all the sports personalities billed to grace the occasion have confirmed they will be present, which is put together to honour eminent Nigerians, who have done well for the country’s sports.

14 eminent Nigerians will be bestowed with the awards this year, alongside two corporate bodies.

Top on the list of honorees are the Governors of Bayelsa and Lagos states, Senator Douye Diri and Babjide Sanwo-Olu, Edo State First Lady, Mrs. Betsy Obaseki, General Overseer of MFM, Dr. Daniel Olukoya, and former director general of the defunct National Sports Commission (NSC), Dr. Patrick Ekeji.

Others are the president of Naija Ratel, Paul Edeh, president of FIBA Africa Zone 3, Col Sam Ahmedu (rtd) and president of Remo Stars, Kunle Soname.

Also on the list are president of HS Group, Mr. Taye Ige; CEO of Owu Sportswear outfit, Tunji Brown; Mrs. Tayo Popoola, who is the initiator of Lagos Women Run; Emmanuel Etim and late Brown Ebewele, who will get a post humous award.

The duo of Supersports and Zenith Bank will also be honored for their corporate support for Nigerian sports.

Sports Minister, Chief Sunday Dare and Deputy Governor of Edo State, Philip Shaibu, are the chairman and Special guest of honour respectively.

Meanwhile, chairman of Brila 88.9Fm, Dr. Larry Izamoje, has commended the organisers of the award for doing a good job.

“Honestly, I am proud of what you guys are doing, especially regarding the yearly awards ceremony. The award is getting bigger and better every year and this is truly satisfying, kudos,” he said in a statement.

Chairman of the Nigerian Professional Football League (NPFL) Interim Management Committee, Gbenga Elegbeleye, has assured he will attend the event.

Source link