THE Champions League is back for a brand new season.

Just a few short weeks after Bayern Munich lifted Big Ears in Lisbon, the group stage draw sees 32 sides begin their journey to the final.

Bayern beat PSG 1-0 to win the Champions League back in August


Bayern beat PSG 1-0 to win the Champions League back in AugustCredit: Getty Images – Getty

Four Premier League clubs are taking part this season, with Liverpool, Man City, Man Utd and Chelsea set to learn their fate.

When is the Champions League group stage draw?

  • The draw takes place on Thursday, October 1.
  • It will be held at RTS Studios in Geneva, Switzerland.
  • Things get going at 4pm BST, which is 5pm local time.

Which TV channel and live stream can I watch it on?

You can catch all of the draw live on BT Sport 1 here in the UK.

Coverage will begin at 3.45pm.

If you want to stream and have a BT subscription, download the BT Sport app.

The draw will also be available FREE on Uefa’s website, with a direct live stream from Switzerland – and you can also follow right here on SunSport with our live blog.

Bayern are back to defend the trophy this season


Bayern are back to defend the trophy this seasonCredit: Getty

Champions League teams

  • Spain: Real Madrid, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Sevilla
  • England: Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Chelsea
  • Italy: Juventus, Inter, Atalanta, Lazio
  • Germany: Bayern, Dortmund, RB Leipzig, Mönchengladbach
  • France: Paris Saint-Germain, Marseille, Rennes
  • Russia: Zenit, Lokomotiv Moskva
  • Portugal: Porto
  • Belgium: Club Brugge
  • Ukraine: Shakhtar Donetsk
  • Turkey: Istanbul Basaksehir
  • Holland: Ajax

Group stage dates

  • Matchday 1: October 20/21
  • Matchday 2: October 27/28
  • Matchday 3: November 3/4
  • Matchday 4: November 24/25
  • Matchday 5: December 1/2
  • Matchday 6: December 8/9

Draw pots

Pot 1

Bayern, Sevilla, Real Madrid, Liverpool, Juventus, Paris Saint-Germain, Zenit, Porto.

Pot 2

Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Manchester City, Manchester United, Shakhtar Donetsk, Borussia Dortmund, Chelsea, Ajax.

Pot 3

Dynamo Kyiv, RB Leipzig, Inter Milan, Olympiakos, Lazio, Atalanta (two more clubs to be confirmed after play-offs on September 30)


Lokomotiv Moscow, Marseille, Club Brugge, Borussia Monchengladbach, Istanbul Basaksehir, Rennes, Ferencvaros.

Source link